Finalists and Winners

IAB NZ is delighted to announce the Finalists and Winners of the IABNZ Awards for 2018.

With 69 entries across 15 categories, 37 finalists were named, with the winners recognised across Digital Media Sales Excellence, Ad-Operations Excellence, Digital Product of the Year and Creative Facing categories. This year, a new category was introduced, the ‘Rising Star Award’ to acknowledge the emerging talent of the industry.

Winners in the Sales Excellence and Ad-Op’s categories were considered for the Grand Prix Award which went to Charlotte Startin from NZME. Charlotte won a trip to Barcelona, Spain to attend the Mobile World Conference in February 2019, a prize worth $2,500. And all winners of the individual categories will receive a ticket to ad:tech Sydney worth AU$1,300*

IABNZ CEO Adrian Pickstock said ‘we were blown away by the level of interest and the quality of entries this year. In particular, the Best Use of Native and Best Use of Video categories are very close. Congratulations to all finalists and winners and we hope you enjoy the night”.

The winners were announced at a Gala dinner at the MOTAT Aviation Hall in Auckland on 30 August.

The finalists and winners are:

Digital Media Sales Excellence Award – Mobile:

Michael Buhagiar, Big Mobile – WINNER
Sarah Atkinson, NZME
Natasha Judson, Exponential  

Digital Media Sales Excellence Award – Display:

Elise Falgueirettes, Stuff
Mel Graham, MetService – WINNER

Digital Media Sales Excellence Award – Video

Katrina Collinson, Mediaworks
James Rogal, Mediaworks – WINNER
Laura Craig, Mediaworks

Digital Media Sales Excellence Award – Search

Steve Crowe, This Side Up – WINNER
Rachel Crockett, NZME

Ad-Operations Excellence Award – Junior Ad-Ops Person of the Year

Caleb Williams, Stuff
Charlotte Startin, NZME – WINNER
Tianze Yu, Big Mobile

Ad-Operations Excellence Award – Senior Ad-Ops Person of the Year

Christine Jones, Stuff – WINNER
Jonathon Devereux, KPEX
Hydia Razavi, Mediaworks

Digital Product of the Year:

S.L.I.C.E Digital Affiliate Network, S.L.I.C.E Digital
AdTrek Advanced HTML 5 Ad Server, Electric Art
Audience Insights, Trade Me – WINNER

Best Use of Mobile

‘Melbourne – A Twist at Every Turn’ Campaign, Big Mobile/OMD
‘Pak’ n Save Fridgemas’ Campaign, Sense Data/FCB – WINNER

Best Use of Data

‘Manukau Institute of Technology – Flexible Study Courses’ Campaign, Arnaud Calonne and Team, Yahoo Platforms
‘Church Road TOM 2013 Vintage Launch’ Campaign, Scott Hughes and Team, NZME/Grab One
‘Harrisons Group’ Campaigns, Steve Crowe and Team, This Side Up – WINNER

Best Use of Native

‘Lincoln University – Influencing the Influencers’ Campaign, Katy Atkin and Kristy Rosby, Stuff
‘Tui – Catch A Million This Summer’ Campaign, Mel Graham, MetService
‘The Survivors Collection’ Campaign, Freddie Leckie and Team, NZME – WINNER

Best Use of Video

‘Steptember – Cerebral Palsy’ Campaign, Simon Soulsby and the NZME Vision Team
‘Bookabach’ Campaign, Sam Abraham, NZME
‘HP – The Reinventors’ Campaign, Hayley Botes and The Media Collective, Bauer Media
‘Sensodyne – The Morning Brush Up’ Campaign, Matt Kum and John Farrell, Stuff – JOINT WINNER
‘BNZ – The hardest working video’ Campaign, TVNZ/Mediacom – JOINT WINNER

Digital Agency of the Year

Acquire Online – Winner by default as their’s was the only entry

Trading Desk of the Year

OMD Programmatic
Acquire Online – WINNER

Rising Star Award

Andrew Crowe – This Side Up
Jeff Lloyd – Mediaworks
Harry Sturt – Sense Data – WINNER

Council Member of the Year

Roger Shakes – NZ Media Tech – WINNER 

Service to Industry Award

Michael Te Young – Future You – WINNER

Grand Prix Award

Charlotte Startin – NZME – WINNER